Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button
Technorati button
Reddit button
Myspace button
Linkedin button
Delicious button
Digg button
Stumbleupon button
Newsvine button
Youtube button

PowWeb Shared Web Hosting Review

About Powweb :

For almost ten years PowWeb has been providing excellent service for affordable rates.

PowWeb is now responsible for hosting more than ten thousand web sites. They provide a bevy of technological nuances such as a load balancing data center, which efficiently ensures maximum uptime, much to the delight of their customers. They innovated a one of a kind, tailor made web hosting software that also helps with automating. They also happen to be the sole managers of their network and equipment. Perfectly located in Burlington, Massachusetts, PowWeb has proved to be very adept at addressing and dealing with problems and have maintained a stellar reputation. The combination of new technologies, fast servers, and a dedicated support team, will ensure that buying this product will be a great choice.

Features:

  • UNLIMITED Disk Space
  • UNLIMITED Data Transfer
  • FREE Domain
  • Host Unlimited Domains
  • MySQL, PHP, CGI
  • SSL, FTP, Stats
  • Point & Click Site Builder
  • $75 in Yahoo & Google Ads Credits
  • E-Commerce Included
  • FrontPage/Dreamweaver ready
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Price:

    PowWeb optimizes the saying “one plan one price”, considering that they provide one hosting plan for all of their small to moderately sized patrons.  The plan not only supplies above average storage and bandwidth, is also includes a broad array of add-ons.  Perhaps the most amazing feature of PowWeb is the ability to host an unlimited amount of domain names on each account.

    Control Panel:

    PowWeb’s control panel, called the Member Operations Center, is of their own design. The six main functions on the panel include Main, personal, accounting, packages, domreg and history. The main tab provides you access to FAQs, submits questions to support, sales, or billing staff. The personal tab allows you to view or edit your personal information as well as add new user accounts. The accounting tab lets you create billing accounts, view online payments, add payment methods, and view account history. The package tab is where you will configure the meat of your hosting service-you can configure pop3 accounts, smtp, ftp, http, domains, MySQL, and SSL. The DomReg tab is where you register your domain names. The final tab is your history tab, which logs all the changes you make to your account.

    powweb_ops

    Customer Support:

    Their email support is very good and effective. They were able to answer all our questions and every email sent was answered promptly. They’ve also added a toll-free line to their office, which is 1-877-4POWWEB (1877-476-9932). The toll-free line is available Monday to Friday 6am-8pm PDT and Saturday to Sunday 11am-4pm PDT. The line is available to US and Canadian customers only. Live chat support is also available now!

    They are also doing a great job of preparing a lot of frequently asked questions (FAQ) in their web site. You can find a lot of solutions to your common problems and also a lot of tips and tricks, such as how to create custom error message, how to do HTTP streaming for real audio and many more.

    They also provide an online community forum as a place for their customers to meet (Just like LunarPages). It is a good place to meet some other PowWeb customers who are willing to help each other out. Web host with an open forum usually means they are quite confident of their services because they allow open discussion about them. An active forum with lots of customers also means that they have a successful and established business. Their forum has more than 20,000 members!

    No More Limitations:

    They have addressed most of the limitations I have posted here ever since I posted this review 5 years ago. For example in January 2004, they installed AWStats to allow their customers to view the traffic statistics of their websites. Before that, they provide no web stats.

    They also provide toll-free support and live-chat support later. You are now able to create password protected directories directly via the control panel. You are also able to setup email autoresponders now. We can see that they are constantly improving their hosting package.

    PowWeb has also removed their maximum number of files limit. They used to have this “funny” limitation where each user cannot have more than 50,000 files in an account. It is funny because it looks like they are the only host in the whole industry that imposed this limitation. But now it has been removed.

    They have increased their MySQL databases to 75 in February 2007 after I highlighted it in the review. There are lots of free scripts available to us today (such as forum, blog, etc.) and all of them require a MySQL database. Having more databases means you can install more free scripts. It is good that my writing does have an impact on them. :)

    Bonuses:

    Application Installation Wizards
    Their simple to use install wizards provides step-by-step instructions for adding a variety of applications to your site–photo galleries, blog software including Joomla , Wordpress and more!

    Email
    Customize your email address (you@yourdomain.com) to enhance your professional image. Plus, you’ll be able to check your mail from anywhere.

    Free Advertising!

    $80 in Yahoo & Google Ads Credits.

    visit_powweb

  • UNLIMITED Disk Space
  • UNLIMITED Data Transfer
  • FREE Domain
  • Host Unlimited Domains
  • MySQL, PHP, CGI
  • SSL, FTP, Stats
  • Point & Click Site Builder
  • $75 in Yahoo & Google Ads Credits
  • E-Commerce Included
  • FrontPage/Dreamweaver ready
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • VN:F [1.8.4_1055]
    Tech support
    Customer support
    Quality
    Reliability & Uptime
    Space
    Traffic
    User-friendliness
    Bonuses
    Rating: 3.1/5 (12 votes cast)

    52 Reviews so far!

      Shannon

      What Shannon Says About this Web Host:

      A Real Bogus Hassle!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Shannon Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Won’t refund money from a billing “mistake” powweb claims they made a billing mistake during a data merge that happened last year and won’t refund or credit my account the difference. During a merge they created a bogus account and began charging my credit card. I spoke with a technical support engineer who said they had indeed made the mistake and said it was clear because according to their logs I had never logged in. She assured me they would resolve the issue. An hour later I got a snotty email from their tech support department stating that they will not refund my money. I also have some technical issues (on my real account) like REALLY slow email, it gets fixed after long discussion with technical support proving the problem is on their end and then a week later its broken again. Also the data and sites they lost during the merge. POWWEB is a REAL BOGUS HASSLE, and despite my attempts to resolve the problems, they have left me feeling helpless to recover from their mistakes.

      1 Shannon Thrasher

      What Shannon Thrasher Says About this Web Host:

      A Real Bogus Hassle!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Shannon Thrasher Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Won’t refund money from a billing “mistake” powweb claims they made a billing mistake during a data merge that happened last year and won’t refund or credit my account the difference. During a merge they created a bogus account and began charging my credit card. I spoke with a technical support engineer who said they had indeed made the mistake and said it was clear because according to their logs I had never logged in. She assured me they would resolve the issue. An hour later I got a snotty email from their tech support department stating that they will not refund my money. I also have some technical issues (on my real account) like REALLY slow email, it gets fixed after long discussion with technical support proving the problem is on their end and then a week later its broken again. Also the data and sites they lost during the merge. POWWEB is a REAL BOGUS HASSLE, and despite my attempts to resolve the problems, they have left me feeling helpless to recover from their mistakes

      2 David Miller

      What David Miller Says About this Web Host:

      I cannot recommend PowWeb

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      David Miller Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I have had quite a few sites hosted on PowWeb. In the first several months of service, I thought they were a remarkable bargain and an outstanding provider – I even recommended them to clients and friends. But in the past year, they have steadfastly refused to implement effective anti-spam filtering. Most of the sites I had hosted on PowWeb have gone to other hosts that do provide good spam filtering.

      On one account that I moved, I was billed for another year of service despite the fact it had been moved a month before the contract expired. I requested a total refund and got a partial credit after several messages and weeks – they only respond to billing inquiries on Mondays. I continued to request a credit for the balance still charged. After many more weeks, I disputed the charge with my credit card company. They initially upheld the charge, but reversed their decision and decided in my favor upon further investigation. PowWeb had to accept the charge-back.

      Two other sites that are hosted by PowWeb were shut down the evening of Sept. 24, 2003. I own one of them. The other site is not owned by me, and is billed directly to the owner by PowWeb. It seems that PowWeb cut their service because I referred them to PowWeb!

      I am unable to receive mail and my control panel login no longer works. Both accounts are prepaid to April 31, 2004. And both sites have never engaged in spam; hosted porn, mp3, warez, etc. I have received no notice about suspension of service.

      PowWeb – which has known of the problem for four days – has not resolved this issue, nor does it appear they want to.

      It is now apparent that PowWeb’s actions are fully intentional – vindictive retribution for a billing dispute decided in my favor by the credit card company.

      The most incredible aspect of this whole debacle is that those charges were for another domain, no longer hosted by PowWeb!

      PowWeb just wanted to make a point.

      No, I cannot recommend PowWeb – for corporate bullying like this, they deserve a point less than zero.

      3 Mike

      What Mike Says About this Web Host:

      Unreliable Service

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: I Don't Know

      Mike Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I did some work for a client hosting on powweb. The first time was because they’re site wasn’t retrieving data off of a ftp server. It turns out the file responsible for that function had its contents erased. So I upload the original file, it worked and I thought I wouldn’t hear from them again. About a month later, I’m told that that file didn’t work again. The problem was with a fopen() function. So I look at the php.ini for “allow_url_fopen = on” and it’s on. I then used a phpinfo() function and it told me it was really OFF! So I save the php.ini as is and now it works. I wonder what problems will come up next. “

      4 atsang

      What atsang Says About this Web Host:

      hAPPY WITH POWWEB

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      atsang Recommend This Web Hosting

      t is unusual for me to use a service without first asking around, or if nobody has introduced it to me. However, when I was very frustrated with Homestead, I stumbled into PowWeb and found this down-to-earth service, which seemed interesting me. PowWeb hosting is inexpensive, if it didn’t perform as well as I hoped, I wouldn’t have a lot to lose. So, I signed up and used their subsidiary site to register my domain. It has been a few months now.

      The registration of a domain went very smoothly, the availability and a construction page was up within 24 hours like the normal standard. As for web hosting, so far I have made three complaints, and all three times I got satisfactory answers from PowWeb, and the problems were resolved within 12 hours or less. These problems included: (1) Somebody tried to run script on the server for my site that caused a complete shut down of the server. (2) PowWeb had a hardware problem. (3) I detected a slowness when I tried to FTP new pages to the server some day ago, while it usually takes about 5 minutes to upload my 60 pages. PowWeb’s explanation was that they were having some trouble with SprintNet, who is one of their backbone providers. But they have additional bandwidth on order from both Verizon and Pbi.net.

      5 Jonathon

      What Jonathon Says About this Web Host:

      Absolutely horrible

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Jonathon Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I have one web site hosted with powweb and want to set up another one for a competing busienss – because of the stupid way that they have built their business model (based on credit card number), I have to set up subsequent accounts under the same umbrellas of the credit card – great – all the competitors get to see the same control panel for everyone!!! And it appears that there is no way for the credit card to be disabled once it is in their system. No answer from the billing department for days – no answer of the phone and no response to emails. Absolutely horrible way to run a business!!!

      6 Paul

      What Paul Says About this Web Host:

      POWWEB IS THE WORST HOSTING

      Hosted For: More than 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      Paul Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      “i have 7 years with powweb and i always experience bad customer service,all the time when i call for customer i wait bout one hour before someody can help me , then after the waitng and after i explain my problem to them they say “SR IM TOTALLY HELPLESS” this is al the time and when you open a ticket they never resolved the issue.They shut down my service cause they make up a history bout y request son charge back from my cc telling me that if i want my service back i need to pay 290 dollars cause thats what my bank is charging them on penalties but when i called my bank they told me that first of all they dont charge penatyes like that and powweb never even tried to take the money.also when you reques a charge back the bank cancels your cc imidiatly and it shows on you statement wich i send to powweb to show them that what they were trying to do was not fair but they did not care.signing up with powweb was the wors thing i did i had 3 accounts with them and im gone for good.”

      7 B. Bancroft

      What B. Bancroft Says About this Web Host:

      Very Pleasantly

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      B. Bancroft Recommend This Web Hosting

      I switched to PowWeb 5 months ago on a whim while trying to find a cheaper host. Not knowing what to expect at first, I’ve been very pleasantly surprised. My site has been up almost all of the time (only one prolonged downtime comes to mind – and by “prolonged” I mean a few hours) and they really have outstanding forums, where you can ask any questions you may have about account setup, implementation, web design, etc. They also offer an inordinate amount of space (recently raised to 500 MB and 30GB of bandwith a month. For $7.77 a month, PowWeb is tough to beat. The only reason I would give them a 9 instead of a 10 is that it has taken them a day or two to reply to e-mails a few times (not a problem because I can almost always get an answer from a PowWeb representative within minutes in the forums).

      8 Nathaniel Thomas

      What Nathaniel Thomas Says About this Web Host:

      Powweb is not the same company I knew

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Nathaniel Thomas Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Over the past year powweb has: -shutdown all my sites for late payment on one exchange account. The late payment was due to card theft. If I’m late on Godaddy – Godaddy simply shuts down that service, not all the others that are paid for! -shutdown an account sold with “unlimited disk storage”. I used this account as a ftp backup storage for all data. The email below states their reasoning: If you are using your Web hosting account as a repository for storing music, movies, videos or pictures of any kind, your account is in violation of our Terms of Service. Please understand that we’re not making any statement as to the legality of the files; this type of file storage is simply not what our hosting accounts are intended for. Ok, I didn’t read the fine print. Selling unlimited space means “store your files here”. Powweb used to save me time & money. They don’t anymore. Godaddy is better.”

      9 Lynda

      What Lynda Says About this Web Host:

      Awful.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Lynda Recommend This Web Hosting

      You get a hell of a lot for under $8 a month. Support is pretty good, but their web-based email setup is awful.

      10 Allyn Crowe

      What Allyn Crowe Says About this Web Host:

      Grea

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      Allyn Crowe Recommend This Web Hosting

      They have been great so far. We had a problem with their service level one month so they gave us a credit.

      The only problem we have is that they have a tendancy to not communicate with their users.

      11 Garywise

      What Garywise Says About this Web Host:

      Faster Host

      Hosted For: More than 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Garywise Recommend This Web Hosting

      I was turned on to Powweb in 2001 by a colleague, and have used them for almost a year, with no problems, no major downtime, and positive service experiences. Everything is controlled through easy panels, and they keep excellent records and stats. Since I started ( I now host 8 sites with them) they have (over) doubled the storage, mailboxes and traffic allowed for the $8 a month! They’re faster than some of the hosts my clients had previously, too. If you (gasp!) use ‘Front Page’, the extensions are free at the click of a button. Installing cgi/perl scripts is very easy, as all the required path information is on their extensive ‘FAQ’ section. I get $15 referral credits, and a six-month “just ‘cos” freebie recently. I do not work for them, I’m not an investor, just a more than satisfied customer. I can’t find any info on the web except their homepage, and was looking for one when I found this one review!

      12 Steve Hill

      What Steve Hill Says About this Web Host:

      BAD EXPERIENCE

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Steve Hill Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Powweb is another word for “BAD EXPERIENCE!” This company will debit your credit card over and over without your authorization. You can cancel your account but they will keep charging you.

      13 Anonymous

      What Anonymous Says About this Web Host:

      Reliable and Affordable, Great Mail!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Anonymous Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Used InterLand for first 3 years, but Tech Support and Reliability was bad. No down time first year, called tech support once. Tech Support ANSWERED LIVE on third ring!! Price is worth the 100 POP 3 emails alone!

      14 Igor Palmer

      What Igor Palmer Says About this Web Host:

      Not the worst but below average

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Igor Palmer Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Been with powweb for over 5 years but had enough of them. Not the worst but there are far better hosts out there. My particular beef with powweb is that they raised their fees without any warning at the time when new customers were offered less than half of price for the same service. When enquired, they promised to review the issue and advise accordingly. Sure enough they didn’t and were MIA until I called to cancel the service. Suddenly they became responsive again. Tech support is ok. Mail server is painfully slow, i mean painfully slow. Emails would arrive hours or days later. Their email server been down frequently. Reliability and uptime however is one of the very best.”
      Reviewer: Igor Palmer from Sydney, Australia Mar 31, 2009

      15 Matt

      What Matt Says About this Web Host:

      RUN from Powweb!

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Matt Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I asked to cancel. They continue to bill me. I call. The supervisor barely speaks English. I say cancel me again. I get a voicemail telling me to call again to really cancel because “Cancel me now!” wasn’t clear enough for them

      16 Nick

      What Nick Says About this Web Host:

      Support or Reliability?

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Nick Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      If you do not care about support or reliability then Powweb is for you. If you care about these then keep searching, they may be cheap, but there are other companies out there that are cheap too.

      17 Graves

      What Graves Says About this Web Host:

      Surprising Cumtomer Support!

      Hosted For: Less than 1 month

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Graves Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Despite multiple written communications to PowWeb went unanswered, I attempted to contact PowWeb by phone. The # listed in Whois is not valid. AT&T “00 info” has no listing for PowWeb in any of the three cities PowWeb gives as its address. I will now attempt to get some response via snail mail.

      18 Wesley

      What Wesley Says About this Web Host:

      Best host I've had!.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Wesley Recommend This Web Hosting

      Best host I’ve had. Uptime of my site is pretty good. Technical support is good too. Can contact through email, phone, and also chat. Cheap package with great features. There are always constant upgrades for storage and bandwidth.

      19 Eden

      What Eden Says About this Web Host:

      POWWEB SUCKS.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Reseller

      Eden Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      POWWEB SERVERS ARE DOWN ALL THE TIME. MY SITE IS GETTING A BAD REPUTATION AND LOSING CUSTOMERS BECAUSE THE TECH SUPPORT IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. CURRENTLY MOVING TO ANOTHER PROVIDER AND RESEARCHING TO FIND ONE WITH LESS DOWNTIME AND BETTER CUSTOMER SERVIC

      20 Sean Wilson

      What Sean Wilson Says About this Web Host:

      Powweb is terrible.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Sean Wilson Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      If you are thinking of using mysql databases etc with powweb forget it. The html pages work fine but anything involving a database is absolutely useless. My site as well as literally TONS of others have the same complaint day in and day out of how slow the websites are. A lot of times they don’t even display. If you just have a simple static html page, it’s fine. If you use a database forget it. They are terrible.

      21 Terry

      What Terry Says About this Web Host:

      Not as reliable as they make it sound..

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Terry Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Powweb used to have good service. Since being bought out by Endurance quality has suffered severly. Endurance is living off Powweb’s good reputation. If you need a reliable host, avoid Powweb. They have a forum, which only certain parts are visible for guest if you are interested in checking out what some members have to say. They are quick to blame users for their problems ( poor coding, too many connections being allowed by users, poorly maintained mysql, etc…).

      22 Jochen

      What Jochen Says About this Web Host:

      Not Recommended.

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Jochen Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I cannot recommend powweb. Website was down every single day. Always just for a few minutes, but it was down!
      When powweb accused me to sent spam email I canceled. I did not sent spam. I sent a monthly newsletter to subscribers. One of them complained to powweb instead of just clicking the unsubscribe link in the email. They shut down my page until I realized it and contacted them what’s going on. This behavier is rediculous.

      23 Jeff Frey

      What Jeff Frey Says About this Web Host:

      Great forum thou

      Hosted For: Less than 1 month

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      Jeff Frey Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Had problems before they move to their new facility, but stayed because service started to get better. Now, I have 2 sites running on 2 different clusters.1 of the clusters is having problems, their mySQL databases run slow. Time to go. Great forum thou

      24 Ammy

      What Ammy Says About this Web Host:

      Good for small sites.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Ammy Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Well, cool host, but not they dont offer as much space as Bluehost and others.

      25 Lexa

      What Lexa Says About this Web Host:

      Good host.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Lexa Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Good hosting service! Good support! Keep it up.

      26 Joun

      What Joun Says About this Web Host:

      Not Happy.

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Joun Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Their uptime is nowhere near what they claim… About every 2 or 3 months, my site (and judging by the HUNDREDS of others complaining on their user forum, I was NOT alone every time this happened) would go down for 12+hours at a time. They will always try to blame some sort of hardware failure for their poor performance. I can accept that the first time, maybe the second. But three or more in a span of 6 months???? If you’re trying to run a businesses, or any kind of site you actually care about, do NOT use PowWeb. Period.

      27 Malvern

      What Malvern Says About this Web Host:

      POORWEB

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Malvern Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I’ve been using Poowweb for two years. I found it very good for speed of access until about 6 months ago, even though my pages have many (properly optimised) photographs. My site now takes forever to access, if at all. Powweb say that there is no problem at their end, and have suggested solutions that have not improved things in any way. The problem wasn’t with me as I had changed nothing, and this issue is encountered from other computers with other ISPs and with all browsers. What is telling is trying to access the Powweb main page, which is just as difficult. I have given this company enough time to sort out their shortcomings, and intend changing my web host; which one to choose seems a nightmare. Any advice would be useful

      28 Maurice Martell

      What Maurice Martell Says About this Web Host:

      Down the tubes

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Maurice Martell Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      A fine example of ineptness and poor quality. The left hand does not know what the left hand is doing and cannot guess where the head is. Avoid.

      29 Martin Hag

      What Martin Hag Says About this Web Host:

      Hear this strory.

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      Martin Hag Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I have signed up with powweb about a year and a half. – It was an offer – which I paid for one year and got a half for free; so in total a year and a half. I cannot remeber a good day with them. Terrible to the bone if you own an online shop. SQL goes right out the window. The only “good” thing were my last 2 weeks before my subscription was about to expire. As soon as I got the e-mail that my subscription was about to end, the website was running faster than google. Now that’s just pathetic. As if what? I forgot all about the rest of one a half year minus 2 weeks? If you have an online shop or databases in general – avoid it like the plague. Cheap prices? Yes – for a reason. Cheap quality and reliablity.

      30 Daniel Hudge

      What Daniel Hudge Says About this Web Host:

      Worse

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Daniel Hudge Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Going on a seven hour outage.
      Do not waste time with powweb

      31 Jim

      What Jim Says About this Web Host:

      Trashed

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Jim Recommend This Web Hosting

      Powweb’s PHP-MySQL infrastructure is trashed. When they were bought by Endurance in 2006, they promised an improved CGI platform. This is not the case. MySQL queries take up to 3 seconds on my CMS. Sometimes it loads quickly (under 2 seconds) and some pages load in 120 seconds. They are just not reliable if you use MySQL. Plain HTML hosting is fine.

      32 Byron Meade

      What Byron Meade Says About this Web Host:

      Worst web hosting site I've ever used.

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Byron Meade Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      This use to be a good hosting site but recently they have changed their policies and delete files they feel violate these new policies.. like jpgs (not porn) and mp3’s even for podcast. Totally stupid people. They have apparantly outsourced their tech support and you end up taelling the tech rep ten times because he can’t understand what you are saying… stay away from this company..bad news!

      33 Nicole

      What Nicole Says About this Web Host:

      Avoid.

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Nicole Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Powweb’s support for MySQL is awful. I have a simple SMF forum and it’s down most of the time with connection errors. This goes on for weeks at a time, and they never even post an announcement to let customers know what’s going on. Although HTML pages have good uptime, the support for MySQL is so bad that I suggest you look elsewhere for your hosting.

      34 Josh

      What Josh Says About this Web Host:

      Powweb User.

      Hosted For: More than 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Josh Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Some thing is up. Powweb and Fatcow both seem to be down (March 7th, 08). Powweb use to be a great hosting company. No really, I’ve been with then since 1999 and have honestly had great service until just recently (I’m sure it’s to do with the take over by The Endurance International Group). The community forum was great and I could solve most problem right there. The price was really good, almost too cheap though. But now it seems Powweb made a turn for the worse. I see it all over the new – EIG – you suck for mucking up a great company

      35 Droid

      What Droid Says About this Web Host:

      Overcharging and bad customer/technical service.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Droid Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      As mentioned below, powweb are now attempting to overcharge their exisitng customers. I have also had numerous technical problems with file downloads and stats, and, although I can sometimes get the immediate problem fixed, getting technical issues resolved can take weeks as their customer service staff simply ignore questions and repeat themselves endlessly. Stay away!!!

      36 James Ellis

      What James Ellis Says About this Web Host:

      PowWeb is not PowWeb any more.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      James Ellis Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I am a webmaster: PowWeb was bought out by Endurance – later I heard where Endurance merged with iPower (I have not confirmed this, but I do receive identical news letters from iPower and now PowWeb – hum…… Anyway PowWeb was wonderful until Endurance came along – now it sticks! STAY AWAY….FAR AWAY. There is no PowWeb, just Endurance/iPower in PowWeb clothing

      37 Bill Salama

      What Bill Salama Says About this Web Host:

      Punish Existing customers.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Bill Salama Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I have been with Powweb for 4 years. They increased the price to 8.77 for existing customers even though the website says 7.77. Every now and then my website goes down for like 15 minutes, by the time I call them they tell me nothing is wrong. I question the reliability. I think Powweb went down hill the past year. I am trynig to find another service.

      38 Barry

      What Barry Says About this Web Host:

      Poor billing support.

      Hosted For: Less than 1 month

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Barry Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I got double billed for a renewal and can’t get them to answer online support and the telephone center told me I had been issued a credit, but have NOT. Very disappointing. Now I have to complain to my credit card company.

      39 Cora Davidson

      What Cora Davidson Says About this Web Host:

      PowWeb and Violation of Privacy.

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Cora Davidson Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I have learned that someone filed a copyright complaint against a website hosted by PowWeb, and their legal team sent out a letter, purportedly mailed to me personally, that was totally unrelated to the issue complained of. I have written to the legal department to inquire why my privacy has been violated, and they are ignoring me. I have had no contact – zero – with PowWeb – ever. I need the name and address of an owner or manager of PowWeb, in order to escalate this to the BBB and others. Anyone?

      40 BRIAN FIELDS

      What BRIAN FIELDS Says About this Web Host:

      Poor Customer Support

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      BRIAN FIELDS Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I just closed my powweb account due to atrocious service. They took over 15 days just to respond to a support request after they broke my website! Performance was horrible too, all my sites were slow as molasses

      41 Shaotzu

      What Shaotzu Says About this Web Host:

      Perfect!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Shaotzu Recommend This Web Hosting

      i make it my blog at powweb for 3 months and it is perfect!

      42 Linda Arthur

      What Linda Arthur Says About this Web Host:

      Poor

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Linda Arthur Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      ” I have had three websites with Powweb. All of which were plagued with technical problems. Wait times are enormous when you call in. Techs do not help. Supervisors are non-existant and they do not call back. Support tickets ignored. I would not suggest anyone spending their money on these web sites. I want my website to look good and not be down for days at a time.Sorry three calls and a support ticket today and I have had enough. “

      43 Maximilian Whishaw

      What Maximilian Whishaw Says About this Web Host:

      Highly Recommended!

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Maximilian Whishaw Recommend This Web Hosting

      You can take complete freedom to contact the customer support team at any time required and can ask any questions troubling you in hosting. I tried their toll free telephone number and was surprised to see the fast response.PowWeb uses the most advanced and latest technology available for giving you the best uptime in the industry. My customers claim that they are able to visit my website whenever they wanted.Set up processes are understandable for any novice user and can try doing it on their own for better results.

      44 shawn hilt

      What shawn hilt Says About this Web Host:

      PowWeb web hosting Database Slow

      Hosted For: 1 - 2 months

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      shawn hilt Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Their hosting is okay with Normal sites html/css… but don’t install Zen Cart on there – takes over a minute to load or more. I’ve tried 2 caching techniques, still horrible.

      I asked them about it, all I got was – it’s fine on our end… yeah, that’s real help for your Customers! I need to move to a real host that can handle a database.

      45 Ravi Shrestha

      What Ravi Shrestha Says About this Web Host:

      I really liked the Powweb service.

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Ravi Shrestha Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      I am really really satisfied with the service of Powweb. They answer me whenever there is a problem. They try there best to solve the problem. I was so impressed with the service that i switched all my 3 sites to this account. I love Powweb and appreciate the team behind this hosting company “

      46 Damon Smithwick

      What Damon Smithwick Says About this Web Host:

      Slow!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Damon Smithwick Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      My forums on powweb run slow slow slow. It can take a minute for pages to load at times. I am getting more and more unhappy with this company every day. “

      47 Vivek

      What Vivek Says About this Web Host:

      Absence of cpanel

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Vivek Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      Biggest problem is absence of cpanel. They have something of their own which is really really really bad. I had a very bad time trying to move my old mails in from my old server and finally they told me that I can’t and I just had to loose all my old mails. Thankfully I atleast have the mails that I had downloded by thunderbird in my pc. And this process took many days. They seem to have really dumb people to whom the support mail first goes. They give some stupid answer, I will tell them its not like that, then they escalate it to someone higher, then he will sort of correctly identify the problem and will say that he will move it to the correct person to solve it.

      So basically many many mails up and down and it plain irritating.

      48 Matt Antonino

      What Matt Antonino Says About this Web Host:

      Powweb up time

      Hosted For: 6 - 11 months

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Matt Antonino Don't Recommend This Web Hosting

      How can powweb have an uptime of 100% in August when it was down on the 8th for almost the entire day and they had a power outage? How can it be 100% for September when it’s been only 3 days and it hasn’t been up for at least 12 hours now. That’s 16% of the month so far – they should be at 84% and lowering. lol

      I love powweb but the outage counter here is definitely Definitely wrong. “

      49 Chris K

      What Chris K Says About this Web Host:

      Best support bar none!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Shared

      Chris K Recommend This Web Hosting

      So far ive been with them for over 3 years and have yet to have a problem the site seems to never be down and if ive ever had a problem they answer the phone and have a real pearson to talk to not a send a e-mail “

      50 James Butler

      What James Butler Says About this Web Host:

      PowWeb Hosting is great!

      Hosted For: 3 - 5 years

      Type Of Plan: Dedicated

      James Butler Recommend This Web Hosting

      ” I curently have 24 websites hosted by Powweb. I signed-up with them in May of 2006. I have used over 6 other web hosting services in the past since 1995. I have never experienced any down time with PowWeb on any of my web sites. I have had a few issues with their automated billing system but they were sorted out very quickly by calling their customer service line. I suspect many of the problems expressed by other reviewers here are related to their own inexperience and or external issues. “

      51 winburn

      What winburn Says About this Web Host:

      Hosted For:

      Type Of Plan:

      winburn This Web Hosting

      Infarktvorsorge durch Prophylaxe (zahnärztlicher Zahn- und Taschenreinigung))

    Leave a Review

    Hosted For

    Type Of Plan

    Do You Recommend This Web Host